Manuel finishes fifth in NL voting

Charlie Manuel led the Phillies to 97 wins, best in baseball, despite a slew of injuries. (David M Warren/Staff Photographer)

San Diego’s Bud Black and Minnesota’s Ron Gardenhire were selected as the National and American League managers of the year by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

The Phillies' Charlie Manuel finished fifth and received one first-place vote.

Black won the NL award by one point over Cincinnati’s Dusty Baker. Black receivd 16 first-place votes to Baker's 13. The Padres were the surprise leaders of the NL West division for most of the season before faltering late.

There was a substantial gap back to San Francisco’s Bruce Bochy and Atlanta’s Bobby Cox, who finished third and fourth, respectively.

Gardenhire, a five-time runner-up for the award, beat out Texas’ Ron Washington and Tampa Bay’s Joe Maddon.

The remaining BBWAA to be announced are the American League Cy Young tomorrow, the National League MVP on Monday and the AL MVP on Tuesday. Phillies righthander Roy Halladay was named the NL Cy Young winner yesterday.

Two votes per league city (5 pts. for 1st, 3 pts. for 2nd, 1 pt. for 3rd).
First-place votes in parentheses
National League
1. Bud Black, Padres (16) -- 104
2. Dusty Baker, Reds (13) -- 103
3. Bruce Bochy, Giants (1) -- 30
4. Bobby Cox, Braves (1) -- 28
5. Charlie Manuel, Phillies (1) -- 20
6. Brad Mills, Astros -- 3

American League
1. Ron Gardenhire, Twins (16) -- 108
2. Ron Washington, Rangers (10) -- 81
3. Joe Maddon, Rays (1) -- 44
4. Terry Francona, Red Sox -- 13
5. Cito Gaston, Blue Jays (1) -- 5
6. Joe Girardi, Yankees -- 1