Happ finished second in Rookie of the Year voting

Phillies lefty J.A. Happ finished second in NL Rookie of the Year voting. (David Maialetti/Staff Photographer)

Phillies lefthander J.A. Happ finished second. in the voting for National League Rookie of the Year by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Florida Marlins outfielder Chris Coghlan won the award, outpointing Happ, despite Happ appearing on all 32 ballots.

Coghan got 17 first-place votes, six for second and two for third for 105 points. He was not on two ballots. Happ had 10 first-place votes, 11 seconds and 11 thirds for a total of 94 points.

Should Happ have won the award?

  • 1403 (74.8%)
  • 472 (25.2%)
  • 1875

Coghlan led NL rookies in batting average (.321), runs (84), hits (162), doubles (31), total bases (232), multihit games (51) and on-base percentage (.390) in becoming the third Marlins player honored, joining Dontrelle Willis (2003) and Hanley Ramirez (2006).

Happ was 12-4 with a 2.93 ERA and topped NL rookie pitchers in innings (166), strikeouts (119), complete games (3) and shutouts (2).

Atlanta Braves pitcher Tommy Hanson (11-4, 2.89 ERA) received two first-place votes and ranked third overall with 37 points. Also receiving two first-place votes was Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen (.282, 12 HR, 54 RBI, 22 SB), who was fourth with 25 points. The other first-place vote went to Milwaukee Brewers infielder Casey McGehee (.301, 16 HR, 66 RBI), who was fifth with 18 points.