Which 76ers wore the No. 4 jersey before Nerlens Noel?

Philadelphia 76ers head coach Maurice Cheeks, left, confers with forward Chris Webber in the fourth quarter of the 76ers' 108-106 victory over the Denver Nuggets in an NBA basketball contest in Denver on Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2005. Cheeks will lead his new team, the Sixers, into Portland for the first time on Wednesday since Cheeks was dismissed as the leader of the Portland Trail Blazers at the conclusion of last season. (AP Photo/David Zalubowski)

Nerlens Noel made it clear that he would like to wear the No. 5 jersey in Philadelphia as a jab at the teams that passed over him on draft day. But hey, rookies don’t always get what they want.

It was announced at Tuesday’s press conference that Noel will be wearing the No. 4 with the franchise.

I guess Arnett Moultrie really did not want to give up his number. Maybe he thought he looked better in it.

(Not that we'd know for ourselves, given how little he has played for the 76ers so far.)

Anyway, with the news that the Sixers would eventually have a new No. 4 hitting the hardwood, it seemed like a good time to take a look back at some of the players that have donned the number prior to Nerlens Noel.

Noel doesn’t necessarily have big shoes to fill, as the number hasn’t really been associated with 76ers success in recent memory.

Keith Van Horn and his high socks wore No. 4 with the franchise, as did Andre Igoudala for a single season So did a guy who looked a lot like Chris Webber, but was devoid of any athletic ability.

Most recently, Dorell Wright wore the number last season. But that is easy to forget, as he was often buried on Doug Collins’ bench.

The complete list, courtesy of Liberty Ballers, looks something like this:

Dolph Schayes (1950-1964)
Ray Corley (1950)
Marlon Redmond (1979)
Clint Richardson (1980-1985)
Cliff Robinson (1987-1988)
Andre Turner (1991)
Sharone Wright (1995-1996)
Michael Cage (1997)
Rick Mahorn (1999)
Pepe Sanchez (2001)
Keith Van Horn (2003)
Chris Webber (2005-2007)
Andre Iguodala (2005)
Kareem Rush (2009)
Tony Battie (2011-2012)
Dorell Wright (2013)

It's safe to say that Sixers fans are hoping that Noel’s time as No. 4 with the franchise is a little bit more memorable than some of the names on this list.