Temple vs. Buffalo series at a glance

One would assume Temple will defeat Buffalo for the third straight season when the teams meet Saturday in a Mid-American Conference matchup at Lincoln Financial Field.

That's because the Owls (4-2, 2-1 MAC) beat the Bulls (2-4, 1-1) by a combined 66 points in the previous two meetings. Plus, this is Temple's homecoming game.  And teams only schedule homecoming opponents they expect to destroy, right?

But before the past two seasons, the Owls have struggled against their New York opponent.

Here’s a glimpse of the Temple vs. Buffalo series:


Temple all-time vs. Buffalo:         3-12

Temple in games at Temple:       1-6

Temple in games at Buffalo:        2-6

First meeting in series:  1957 at Temple Stadium; L, 13-6

Last meeting in series:   2010 at UB Stadium; W, 42-0

Temple’s first win:           1970 at Temple Stadium; W, 21-8


Temple Owls                     

                Rushing:               Bernard Pierce, 23-106, 2 TDs (2010)                       

                Passing:                John Waller, 35-62-440, 5 TDs (1968)       

                Receiving:           Jerry Loviglio, 14-209 (1968)        

Buffalo Bulls

                Rushing:               Mario Henry, 17-125, 1 TD (2007)

                Passing:                Drew Willy, 29-42-348, 3 TD (2008)

                Receiving:           Naaman Roosevelt, 8-132, 1 TD (2008)


Year       Site                                      Results   TU Coach                         UB Coach

1957       Temple Stadium               L, 13-6   Peter P. Stevens              Dick Offenhamer

1958       Rotary Field                       L, 54-6   Peter P. Stevens              Dick Offenhamer

1959       Temple Stadium               L, 28-14 Peter P. Stevens              Dick Offenhamer

1960       Temple Stadium               L, 21-12 George Makris                 Dick Offenhamer

1961       Rotary Field                       L, 30-3   George Makris                 Dick Offenhamer

1962       Temple Stadium               L, 16-13 George Makris                 Dick Offenhamer

1967       Rotary Field                       L, 44-14 George Makris                 Doc Urich

1968       Temple Stadium               L, 50-40 George Makris                 Doc Urich

1969       Rotary Field                       L, 33-0   George Makris                 Bob Deming

1970       Temple Stadium               W, 21-8 Wayne Hardin                  Bob Deming

2006       UB Stadium                        L, 9-3 (ot) Al Golden                      Turner Gill

2007       Lincoln Financial Field     L, 42-7   Al Golden                          Turner Gill

2008       UB Stadium                       L, 30-28 Al Golden                          Turner Gill

2009       Lincoln Financial Field     W, 37-13 Al Golden                        Turner Gill

2010       UB Stadium                       W, 42-0 Al Golden                          Jeff Quinn