Temple vs. Bowling Green series at a glance

One would assume Temple will run all over – and around –Bowling Green when the teams meet Saturday in a Mid-American Conference matchup at Doyt Perry Stadium.

That's because the Owls (5-2, 3-1 MAC) boast the conference top-ranked rushing offense at 257 rushing yard per game. The Falcons (3-4, 1-2), on the other hand, have given up 351 and 268 rushing yards in their past two games. Bowling Green also heads into the contest with a three-game skid.

But the Falcons will be fired up, considering this is a “must-win” game for them.

Here’s a glimpse of the Temple vs. Bowling Green series:


Temple all-time vs. Bowling Green:         4-7

Temple in games at Temple:                   4-3

Temple in games at Bowling Green:        0-4

First meeting in series:                  1953 at Temple Stadium; W, 27-0

Last meeting in series:                   2010 at Lincoln Financial Field, W, 28-27



Temple Owls                     

                Rushing:               Umar Ferguson, 28-132, 1 TD (2005)       

                Passing:                Adam DiMichele, 27-41-299, 4 TDs (2007)             

                Receiving:           Troy Kersey, 3-120 (1995)


Bowling Green

                Rushing:               Chris Bullock, 29-182, 2 TDs (2006)

                Passing:                Omar Jacobs, 21-26-367, 4 TDs (2004)

                                Tyler Sheehan, 30-47-351, 4 TDs (2007)

                Receiving:           Kamar Jorden, 12-143  (2010)


Year       Site        Results TU Coach             BGSU Coach

1953       Temple Stadium               W, 27-0 Albert P. Kawal Robert H. Whittaker

1966       Temple Stadium               L, 20-62 George Makris  Bob Gibson

1995       Veterans Stadium            L, 31-37 Ron Dickerson   Gary Blackney

1996       Doyt Perry Stadium         L, 16-20 Ron Dickerson   Gary Blackney

2000       Franklin Field                   W, 31-14  Bobby Wallace  Gary Blackney

2001       Doyt Perry Stadium         L, 23-42 Bobby Wallace  Urban Meyer

2004       Lincoln Financial Field     L, 16-70 Bobby Wallace  Gregg Brandon

2005       Doyt Perry Stadium         L, 7-70   Bobby Wallace  Gregg Brandon

2006       Lincoln Financial Field     W, 28-14  Al Golden            Gregg Brandon

2007       Doyt Perry Stadium         L, 35-48 Al Golden            Gregg Brandon

2010       Lincoln Financial Field     W, 28-27  Al Golden            Dave Clawson