Temple needs rare win against Pitt

Pittsburgh coach Paul Chryst. (Keith Srakocic/AP)

Make no bones about it.

Temple must win Saturday’s Big East matchup against Pittsburgh at Heinz Field.

That’s because the Owls (3-3, 2-1 Big East) need to win three of their remaining five games to become bowl eligible for the fourth consecutive season. And it’s highly unlikely that Temple will get victories against No. 16 Louisville and Cincinnati.

So the Owls must beat the Panthers (3-4, 0-3), Syracuse and Army.

A win Saturday would also snap Temple's six-game losing streak to Pitt.

The teams' last met in 2004, the Owls' final season in the Big East before rejoining the conference this fall. In all, the Panthers hold a 27-7-1 series advantage.

Here's a glimpse at the Temple vs. Pitt series:

Temple all-time vs. Pittsburgh:         7-27-1
Temple in games at Temple:            4-15
Temple in games at Pittsburgh:       3-12-1
First meeting in series:                     1938 at Temple Stadium; L, 28-6
Last meeting in series:                     2004 at Lincoln Financial Field; L, 27-22

Temple Owls 
    Rushing:     Todd McNair 41-213 (1987)    
    Passing:     Henry Burris 25-41-445, 3 TDs (1996)
    Receiving:     Van Johnson 7-214, 3 TDs (1996)

Pittsburgh Panthers
    Rushing:     Brandon Miree 27-188, 2 TDs (2003)
    Passing:     Dan Marino 26-36-344, 3 TDs (1982)
    Receiving:    Greg Lee 8-159, 1 TD (2004)

Year    Site    Results    TU Coach    Pitt Coach
1938    Temple Stadium    L, 6-28    Pop Warner    John B. Sutherland
1939    Temple Stadium    L, 7-13    Fred H. Swan    Charles W. Bowser
1945    Pitt Stadium    W, 6-0    Ray Morrison    Clark D. Shaugnessy
1946    Pitt Stadium    T, 0-0    Ray Morrison    Wesley E. Fesler
1974    Pitt Stadium    L, 24-35    Wayne Hardin    John Majors    
1975    Temple Stadium    L, 6-55    Wayne Hardin    John Majors
1976    Pitt Stadium    L, 7-21    Wayne Hardin    John Majors
1977    Veterans Stadium    L, 0-76    Wayne Hardin    Jackie Sherrill
1978    Pitt Stadium    L, 12-20    Wayne Hardin    Jackie Sherrill
1979    Veterans Stadium    L, 9-10    Wayne Hardin    Jackie Sherrill
1980    Pitt Stadium    L, 2-36    Wayne Hardin    Jackie Sherrill
1981    Veterans Stadium    L, 0-35    Wayne Hardin    Jackie Sherrill
1982    Pitt Stadium    L, 17-38    Wayne Hardin    Foge Fazio
1983    Pitt Stadium    L, 0-35    Bruce Arians    Foge Fazio
1984    Veterans Stadium    W, 13-12    Bruce Arians    Foge Fazio
1985    Veterans Stadium    L, 17-21    Bruce Arians    Foge Fazio
1986    Pitt Stadium    %L [W, 19-13]    Bruce Arians    Mike Gottfried
1987    Pitt Stadium    W, 24-21    Bruce Arians    Mike Gottfried
1988    Pitt Stadium    L, 7-42    Bruce Arians    Mike Gottfried
1989    Veterans Stadium    L, 3-27    Jerry Berndt    Mike Gottfried
1990    Pitt Stadium    W, 28-18    Jerry Berndt    Paul Hackett
1991    Pitt Stadium    *L, 7-26    Jerry Berndt    Paul Hackett
1992    Veterans Stadium    *L, 20-27    Jerry Berndt    Paul Hackett
1993    Veterans Stadium    *L, 18-28    Ron Dickerson    John Majors
1994    Pitt Stadium    *L, 19-45    Ron Dickerson    John Majors
1995    Veterans Stadium    *W, 29-27    Ron Dickerson    John Majors
1996    Pitt Stadium    *L, 52-53    Ron Dickerson    John Majors
1997    Veterans Stadium    *W, 17-13    Ron Dickerson    Walt Harris
1998    Pitt Stadium    *W, 34-33    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris
1999    Pitt Stadium    *L, 24-55    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris
2000    Veterans Stadium    *L, 0-7    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris
2001    Veterans Stadium    *L, 7-33    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris
2002    Heinz Field    *L, 22-29    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris
2003    Lincoln Financial Field    *L, 16-30    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris    
2004    Lincoln Financial Field    *L, 22-27    Bobby Wallace    Walt Harris

% Temple forfeited due to use of ineligible player
* BIG?EAST?game