Friday, July 11, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Owls to make at least 14 television appearances

Eleven games at the Liacouras Center, a game against Duke at the Wells Fargo Center and at least 14 television appearances highlight Temple’s 2011-12 men’s basketball schedule, announced Tuesday.

Owls to make at least 14 television appearances

Eleven games at the Liacouras Center, a game against Duke at the Wells Fargo Center and at least 14 television appearances highlight Temple’s 2011-12 men’s basketball schedule, announced Tuesday.

The Owls, who return four starters from last season’s 26-8 squad, will play eight Atlantic Ten Conference home games. They will take on Central Michigan (Dec. 3), Villanova (Dec. 10) on Buffalo (Dec. 28) in nonconference games there.

The Owls will play a minimum of eight games on ESPN entities, starting with their Nov. 17 contest against Western Michigan on ESPNU in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off opener. Temple will also play three national televised games on the CBS Sports Network, while three conference games will be CBS College Sports Network regional telecasts.

-          Keith Pompey

Temple schedule

Day Date Opponent Site Time (EST)

Mon. Nov. 14 at Penn The Palestra TBA

Thu. Nov. 17 Western Michigan (PR Tip-Off/ESPNU) San Juan, PR 10:30 a.m.

Fri. Nov. 18 at Puerto Rico Tip-Off (ESPNU*) San Juan, PR 1/3:30 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 20 at Puerto Rico Tip-Off (ESPN2*) San Juan, PR TBA

Sun. Nov. 27 at Bowling Green Bowling Green, OH 2:00 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 3 CENTRAL MICHIGAN LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Wed. Dec. 7 at Toledo Toledo, OH TBA

Sat. Dec. 10 VILLANOVA (ESPN2) LIACOURAS CENTER 5:00 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 17 at Texas (ESPN2) Austin, TX 2:30 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 19 at Rice Houston, TX 8:00 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 28 BUFFALO LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Fri. Dec. 30 at Delaware Newark, DE TBA

Wed. Jan. 4 Duke (ESPN2) Wells Fargo Center 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 7 DAYTON (CBSSNR) LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Wed. Jan. 11 at Saint Louis (CBSSN) St. Louis, MO 9:00 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 14 at Richmond (CBSSN) Richmond, VA TBA

Wed. Jan. 18 LA SALLE LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Sat. Jan. 21 Maryland (ESPNU) The Palestra 11:00 a.m.

Wed. Jan. 25 at Charlotte Charlotte, NC TBA

Sat. Jan. 28 SAINT JOSEPH’S LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Wed. Feb. 1 FORDHAM LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Sat. Feb. 4 at Rhode Island (ESPN/ESPN2) Kingston, RI 2:00 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 8 GEORGE WASHINGTON (CBSSNR) LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Sat. Feb. 11 XAVIER (ESPN2) LIACOURAS CENTER 9:00 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 15 at St. Bonaventure (CBSSN) Olean, NY 8:00 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 18 DUQUESNE (CBSSNR) LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Wed. Feb. 22 at La Salle Tom Gola Arena TBA

Sat. Feb. 25 at Saint Joseph’s (ESPNU) Hagan Arena TBA

Wed. Feb. 29 MASSACHUSETTS LIACOURAS CENTER TBA

Sat. Mar. 3 at Fordham New York, NY TBA

T-S Mar. 6, 9-11 A-10 Championship Campus Sites/Atlantic City, NJ

Puerto Rico Tip-Off Opponents: Alabama, Colorado, Iona, Maryland, Purdue, Western

Michigan, Wichita State

CBSSN – CBS Sports Network; CBSSNR – CBS Sports Regional Net

About this blog
Keith Pompey has been an Inquirer reporter since September 2004. He takes over the Sixers beat after covering the Temple men’s basketball team for the past three years and Temple football the past two seasons. Pompey also previously covered the Penn and Drexel men’s basketball team and Villanova football team after initially focusing on high school sports.

Pompey is a native Philadelphian and a University of Pittsburgh graduate. Follow him on Twitter @PompeyOnSixers or reach Keith at kpompey@phillynews.com. Reach Keith at kpompey@phillynews.com.

John Mitchell
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
Stay Connected