Saturday, March 28, 2015

Akron game has ingredients for letdown

Temple travels to Akron Saturday for an expected Mid-American Conference East Division blowout.

Akron game has ingredients for letdown

Temple travels to Akron Saturday for an expected Mid-American Conference East Division blowout.

Some could even argue that it will be nothing more than an expected tune-up for highly anticipated matchup with Penn State on Sept. 17.

With that, one would assume the Owls (1-0) are looking past Zips (0-1). And that wouldn’t be hard to do, considering Temple won the last three series meetings by a combined 113-23 score. The Owls are also coming off an emotional blowout win against Philadelphia-area rival Villanova in the Mayor's Cup.

“Every week you have to bring your game A game – every week,” said Owls first-year coach Steve Addazio, who doesn’t believe his team will overlook the Zips.

More coverage
Special section: Full coverage of the NCAA tournament
NCAA tournament TV schedule
Latest college sports videos
Buy college apparel and college gear
What will be the final point spread for the Penn State-Temple game?
15 or over
13 to 14.5
10 to 14
Under 10

“This is the first time [with a new coaching staff] here, we are on the road together,” he added. “We got a lot of challenges, here.  And we certainly understand there’s no way that we can beat a team looking forward.”

Akron has lost 12 of their last 13 games after Saturday’s 42-0 setback to Ohio State. Akron’s last winning season was in 2005.


Temple leads the all-time series with Akron, 13-7.


Year                 Site                               Results            TU Coach             UA Coach

1967       Temple Stadium               W, 22-21              George Makris  Gordon Larson

1970       Temple Stadium               L, 0-21                 Wayne Hardin   Gordon Larson

1973       Temple Stadium               W, 47-33              Wayne Hardin   Jim Dennison

1975       Rubber Bowl                      L, 23-24              Wayne Hardin   Jim Dennison

1976       Rubber Bowl                       W, 23-13              Wayne Hardin   Jim Dennison

1978       Rubber Bowl                       W, 56-21              Wayne Hardin   Jim Dennison

1979       Veterans Stadium              W, 42-6               Wayne Hardin   Jim Dennison

1980       Veterans Stadium            W, 16-7                 Wayne Hardin   Jim Dennison

1987       Veterans Stadium            W, 23-3                 Bryce Arians       Gerry Faust

1988       Rubber Bowl                      W, 37-17              Bruce Arians       Gerry Faust

1991       Veterans Stadium            L, 32-37                Jerry Berndt       Gerry Faust

1992       Rubber Bowl                     L, 15-29                 Jerry Berndt       Gerry Faust

1993       Veterans Stadium            L, 7-31                  Ron Dickerson   Gerry Faust

1994       Rubber Bowl                     W, 32-7                Ron Dickerson   Gerry Faust

1998       Franklin Field                   L, 28-35               Bobby Wallace  Lee Owens

1999       Rubber Bowl                     L, 15-25               Bobby Wallace  Lee Owens

2007       Rubber Bowl                     W, 24-20              Al Golden            J.D. Brookhart

2008       Lincoln Financial Field     W, 27-6                 Al Golden            J.D. Brookhart

2009       InfoCision Stadium          W, 56-17              Al Golden            J.D. Brookhart

2010       Lincoln Financial Field     W, 30-0                Al Golden            Rob Ianello

- Keith Pompey

About this blog
Keith Pompey has been an Inquirer reporter since September 2004. He took over the Sixers beat in the summer of 2013 after covering the Temple basketball and football for the previous three years. Pompey also previously covered the Penn and Drexel men’s basketball team and Villanova football team after initially focusing on high school sports.

Pompey is a native Philadelphian and a University of Pittsburgh graduate. Follow him on Twitter @PompeyOnSixers or reach Keith at

Keith Pompey Inquirer Staff Writer
Latest Videos:
Also on
Stay Connected