Saturday, February 13, 2016

A closer look at the Temple vs. PSU series

Here's how Temple has fared against Penn State in the all-time series:

A closer look at the Temple vs. PSU series


Here's how Temple has fared against Penn State in the all-time series:


Temple all-time vs. Penn State: 3-36-1

Temple in games at Temple:       3-11

More coverage
Get the latest local sports news with the Philly Sports Now app
Latest college football rankings
Latest college sports videos
SHOP: Collegiate Sportswear & Merchandise

Temple in games at Penn State:                0-22-1

Temple in games at a neutral site:            0-3

First meeting in series: 1931 at Temple Stadium, W, 12-0

Last meeting in series:   2010 at Beaver Stadium, L, 22-13



Temple Owls

                Rushing:               Paul Palmer, 30-206, 2 TDs (1985)

                Passing:                Henry Burris, 24-42-323, 2 TDs (1994)

                Receiving:           Pete Righi, 7-100 (1975)


Penn State Nittany Lions

                Rushing:               Rodney Kinlaw, 27-168, 1 TD (2007)

                Passing:                Anthony Morelli, 22-33-260, 3 TDs (2007)             

                Receiving:           Terry Smith, 8-144, 1 TD (1991)


Year       Site        Result   Temple Coach   PSU Coach

1931       Temple Stadium               W, 12-0 Henry J. Miller   Bob Higgins

1932       Temple Stadium               W, 13-12              Henry J. Miller   Bob Higgins

1940       Temple Stadium               L, 18-0   Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1941       Temple Stadium               W, 14-0 Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1943       Beaver Field       L, 13-0   Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1944       Temple Stadium               L, 7-6     Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1945       Beaver Field       L, 27-0   Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1946       Beaver Field       L, 26-0   Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1947       Temple Stadium               L, 7-0     Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1948       Beaver Field       L, 47-0   Ray Morrison     Bob Higgins

1949       Temple Stadium               L, 28-7   Albert P. Kawal Joe Bedenk

1950       Beaver Field       T, 7-7     Albert P. Kawal Rip Engle

1952       Beaver Field       L, 20-13 Albert P. Kawal Rip Engle

1975       Franklin Field     L, 26-25 Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1976       Veterans Stadium            L, 31-30 Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1977       Beaver Stadium                L, 44-7   Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1978       Veterans Stadium            L, 10-7   Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1979       Beaver Stadium                L, 22-7   Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1980       Veterans Stadium            L, 50-7   Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1981       Beaver Stadium                L, 30-0   Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1982       Beaver Stadium                L, 31-14 Wayne Hardin   Joe Paterno

1983       Veterans Stadium            L, 23-18 Bruce Arians       Joe Paterno

1985       Beaver Stadium                L, 27-25 Bruce Arians       Joe Paterno

1986       Beaver Stadium                L, 45-15 Bruce Arians       Joe Paterno

1987       Beaver Stadium                L, 27-13 Bruce Arians       Joe Paterno

1988       Veterans Stadium            L, 45-9   Bruce Arians       Joe Paterno

1989       Beaver Stadium                L, 42-3   Jerry Berndt       Joe Paterno

1990       Beaver Stadium                L, 48-10 Jerry Berndt       Joe Paterno

1991       Veterans Stadium            L, 24-7   Jerry Berndt       Joe Paterno

1992       Beaver Stadium                L, 49-8   Jerry Berndt       Joe Paterno

1994       Franklin Field     L, 48-21 Ron Dickerson   Joe Paterno

1995       Beaver Stadium                L, 66-14 Ron Dickerson   Joe Paterno

1996       Giants Stadium L, 41-0   Ron Dickerson   Joe Paterno

1997       Beaver Stadium                L, 52-10 Ron Dickerson   Joe Paterno

2003       Beaver Stadium                L, 23-10 Bobby Wallace  Joe Paterno

2006       Beaver Stadium                L, 47-0   Al Golden            Joe Paterno*

2007       Lincoln Financial Field     L, 31-0   Al Golden            Joe Paterno

2008       Beaver Stadium                L, 45-3   Al Golden            Joe Paterno

2009       Beaver Stadium                L, 31-6   Al Golden            Joe Paterno

2010       Beaver Stadium                L, 22-13 Al Golden            Joe Paterno

Staff Writer
We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
Keith Pompey has been an Inquirer reporter since September 2004. He took over the Sixers beat in the summer of 2013 after covering the Temple basketball and football for the previous three years. Pompey also previously covered the Penn and Drexel men’s basketball team and Villanova football team after initially focusing on high school sports.

Pompey is a native Philadelphian and a University of Pittsburgh graduate. Follow him on Twitter @PompeyOnSixers or reach Keith at

Keith Pompey Staff Writer
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter