A-10 honors Allen, Randall, Wyatt

The stellar play by Temple’s Lavoy Allen, Scootie Randall and Khalif Wyatt was recognized by Atlantic Ten Conference coaches.

On Monday, Allen was named a first-team all-conference selection for the second consecutive season. The senior power forward was also named to the league’s all-defensive team for the third year in a row.

Randall, a junior swingman, was the recipient of the Chris Daniels Award as the A-10’s most improved player.  He was also an honorable-mention selection.  And Wyatt, a sophomore guard, was named the league’s sixth man of the year.

Junior shooting guard Ramone Moore and junior point guard Juan Fernandez were also honored.

Moore received second-team all-conference honors, while Fernandez was a third-team pick.  Fernandez was also an all-academic team selection.

Allen is arguably the league’s hottest player heading into this week’s conference tournament.

On Sunday, the four-year starter was named the league’s player of the week for the second consecutive time.

The 6-foot-9, 225-pounder is coming off five consecutive double-double performances and posted his 10th of the regular season. The Pennsbury High product averaged 11.8 points, 8.2 rebounds,  2.1 assists and 1.7 blocks in 29 games.

The 6-6, 205-pound Randall has missed the Owls’ last five games with a right foot injury.  Before his injury, he was the hottest player on the team.

He ranks third on the team in scoring (11.6 points per game) and fourth in rebounding (5.1 rpg).  Randall also shot 49.8 percent from the field – including 37.2 percent from three-point territory – in 25 games played.

Not bad for someone who averaged a combined 1.7 points during his first two seasons as an Owl.

Meanwhile, Wyatt, a 6-4, 205-pounder, was Mr. Clutch for Temple, averaging  9.5 points , 2.1 rebounds and 1.2 steals in 19 minutes a game. The Norristown High product also led the Owls in three-point percentage (41.9).


-          Keith Pompey


Here’s a look at the A-10  all-conference teams and honorees:


2010-11 Atlantic 10 Conference Men’s Basketball All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year

Tu Holloway, Xavier

Rookie of the Year

T.J. McConnell, Duquesne

Defensive Player of the Year

Damian Saunders, Duquesne

Chris Daniels Most Improved Player of the Year

Scootie Randall, Temple

Sixth Man of the Year

Khalif Wyatt, Temple

Student-Athlete of the Year

Steve Weingarten, La Salle

Coach of the Year

Chris Mack, Xavier


First Team Cl. Pos. PPG RPG ASTS

Lavoy Allen, Temple Sr. F 11.8 8.2 62

Kevin Anderson, Richmond Sr. G 16.0 2.8 106

Justin Harper, Richmond Sr. F 18.0 6.8 36

Tu Holloway, Xavier Jr. G 20.1 5.2 164

Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure Jr. F 20.5 7.2 30

Second Team Cl. Pos. PPG RPG ASTS

Bill Clark, Duquesne Sr. F/G 16.1 6.2 76

Delroy James, Rhode Island Sr. F 17.6 7.8 75

Ramone Moore, Temple Jr. G 14.8 4.3 99

Damian Saunders, Duquesne Sr. F 12.4 7.8 71

Tony Taylor, George Washington Jr. G 14.8 3.3 138

Third Team Cl. Pos. PPG RPG ASTS

Juan Fernandez, Temple Jr. G 10.5 2.8 101

Anthony Gurley, Massachusetts Sr. G 19.0 4.4 42

Mark Lyons, Xavier So. G 13.8 3.3 94

Jamel McLean, Xavier Sr. F 10.8 8.5 23

Chris Wright, Dayton Sr. F 13.0 8.3 54

Honorable Mention Cl. Pos. PPG RPG ASTS

Kenny Frease, Xavier Jr. C 11.9 7.2 34

Chris Gaston, Fordham So. F 15.9 11.3 38

Chris Johnson, Dayton Jr. F 11.8 5.9 52

Scootie Randall, Temple Jr. F 11.6 5.1 36

All-Defensive Team Cl. Pos. PPG RPG BLKS STLS

Lavoy Allen, Temple Sr. F 11.8 8.2 51 19

Tu Holloway, Xavier Jr. G 20.1 5.2 2 46

Marquis Jones, Rhode Island Sr. G 11.4 3.3 6 44

Damian Saunders, Duquesne Sr. F 12.4 7.8 74 63

Kevin Smith, Richmond Sr. F 4.0 3.8 16 32

All-Rookie Team Cl. Pos. PPG RPG ASTS

Tyreek Duren, La Salle Fr. G 9.5 2.7 138

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis Fr. F 8.4 6.5 23

Langston Galloway, Saint Joseph’s Fr. G 12.8 5.4 84

T.J. McConnell, Duquesne Fr. G 10.6 3.8 128

Juwan Staten, Dayton Fr. G 8.6 2.1 168

All-Academic Team Cl. Pos. Major

Brian Conklin, Saint Louis Jr. F Business Administration

Paul Eckerle, Saint Louis r-Jr. G Biology

Juan Fernandez, Temple Jr. G Broadcast Journalism

Will Martell, Rhode Island Sr. C Finance

Steve Weingarten, La Salle Sr. F History & American Studies