Students, drivers Honored at School Bus Safety Awards


Harrisburg - Twelve students and six school bus drivers from across the state were honored Wednesday for winning the 2012 School Bus Safety Poster Contest and the 2012 Pennsylvania School Bus Driver Safety Competition.

The event was also held in recognition of Gov. Tom Corbett's proclamation designating Oct. 22-26 as School Bus Safety Week in Pennsylvania. The same week has also been designated National School Bus Safety Week.

"These creative young students are helping us communicate important safety messages through their posters," said Kurt Myers, PennDOT Deputy Secretary for Safety Administration. "Their creations are a reminder to all of us that exercising common sense around school buses can save young lives."

This year's contest theme, "Stand Back from the Yellow and Black," stressed the need for students to be cautious and stay a safe distance from the bus so that drivers can see them while loading and unloading. Students, kindergarten through eighth grade, were eligible to enter.

The winners were chosen from 475 public and private school student entries.

Following is a list of winners of the poster contest and driver safety competition. (We have left in the local winners and omitted the rest.)

2012 School Bus Safety Poster Contest Winners:

Division 1 (Grades Kindergarten - 2)
Second Place: Riya Kinny, K.D. Markley Elementary School, Malvern, Chester County
Third Place: Michaela Tseng, K.D. Markley Elementary School, Malvern, Chester County

Division 2 (Grades 3-5)
Third Place: Mia Angela Davis, Swarthmore-Rutledge School, Swarthmore, Delaware County

Division 3 (Grades 6-8) no local winners

Division 4 (Special Education) no local winners

2012 PA School Bus Driver Safety Competition Winners
Conventional Bus

First Place: Larry Hannon, Centennial School District; Bucks County
Second Place: John Welsh, Lower Merion School District; Montgomery County
Third Place: Sharon Brown, Krapf Bus Companies; Chester County

Transit Bus
First Place: Cheryl Vogelsang, Eagle Wolfington Leasing; Chester County
Second Place: Ray Rogers, Central Bucks School District; Bucks County.