That's the Spirit: Russell, Lawrence, 'Silver Linings' Win

"Silver Linings Playbook" won best picture at the Independent Spirit Awards today. David Russell won Best Director and Best Screenplay, Jennifer Lawrence won Best Actress. 

Bradley Cooper lost Best Actor to John Hawkes of "The Sessions." That's too bad for Abington, but Hawkes was great in "Sessions," and given that he didn't even get a nomination from the Academy, it's really kind of nice to see him win this award. His co-star Helen Hunt won best supporting actress. Matthew McConaughey won best supporting actor for "Magic Mike." Robert De Niro of "SLP" was not nominated. 

SLP's producer joked that he didn't expect to win today, and doesn't expect to win tomorrow.