Bryz sets Flyers record in 3-2 win

Ilya Bryzgalov set a new Flyers record for consecutive scoreless minutes on Thursday night. (Kathy Kmonicek/AP)

  Ilya Bryzgalov set a Flyers record for consecutive scoreless minutes in the Flyers' 3-2 win over  the host New York Islanders on Thursday.

  In the second period, he passed the mark of 227 minutes, 40 seconds, set by John Vanbiesbrouck in 1999.

  Michael Grabner, left alone in the left circle, scored on a one-handed redirect with 6:30 left in the game to end Bryzgalov's streak at 249 minutes, 43 seconds.

   "The record is not for me," Bryzgalov told reporters. "It's a team accomplishment. Congratulations to.... all the players who played."

   Bryzgalov topped his personal-best scoreless streak of 249:15 with Anaheim in the 2006 playoffs.

   Thirty-five seconds after Grabner's goal, the Isles cut the deficit to 3-2 on John Tavares' tally.

    After two periods, Bryzgalov's scoreless streak was at 236:13, and the Flyers had a 3-0 lead on goals by Zac Rinaldo, Claude Giroux and Scott Hartnell.

     In 2003-04, former Flyer Brian Boucher, playing for Phoenix, set two modern-day NHL records with five consecutive shutouts and a shutout streak of 332:01.

    Bryzgalov was aiming for his fourth straight shutout, which would have been a club record.

    Entering the third period, Bryz had stopped 172 of the last 174 shots he had faced, including the last 105. He allowed two goals on 11 third-period shots as his defense deserted him during a 35-second Isles flurry.

    The Flyers won despite getting outshot, 31-22, and not having any power plays.

    "Do you think they were never going to score against me again?" Bryzgalov asked. "You're mistaken."

   "Unfortunately, every streak must come to an end," said Hartnell, who scored what proved to be the game-winner.  "We just have to start another one."

   * * *

    Statues shifted. The Spectrum statues of Kate Smith, Julius Erving and Gary Dornhoefer will be installed at XFINITY LIVE! on Friday at noon.

    Breakaways. Bryzgalov has seven straight wins, during which he has allowed a total of seven goals....The Flyers blocked 19 shots, led by Braydon Coburn (4), Kimmo Timonen (3) and Nick Grossmann (3).....Giroux set a career high with his 26th goal....Rinaldo had six attempts on the net _ the most by any Flyers except Jaromir Jagr (7).....Giroux has 82 points and trails only Evgeni Malkin (85) and Steven Stamkos (84). No Flyer has ever won the scoring title.

   Follow Sam Carchidi on Twitter @BroadStBull.