Monday, February 8, 2016

Gates excellent choice for Liberty Medal

The National Constitution Center has made an excellent choice in naming Defense Secretary Robert M. Gates the recipient of this year’s Liberty Medal.

Gates excellent choice for Liberty Medal

Robert M. Gates
Robert M. Gates

The National Constitution Center has made an excellent choice in naming Defense Secretary Robert M. Gates the recipient of this year’s Liberty Medal.

Gates, who retires today, is the only Pentagon chief to serve two presidents of different parties. He joined the cabinet of President George W. Bush in December 2006, and was reappointed by President Obama.

During that time he has overseen troop surges in both Iraq and Afghanistan. He has been a strong advocate for soldiers as well as a responsible steward of military resources in tough economic times.

Gates’ service to the nation goes back decades, with senior posts in five administrations. The Kansas native was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the Air Force in 1967, and then went on to a career in the CIA. He was named director in 1991 — the only career officer to rise to the top job at the agency.

Throughout Gates’ career, but especially during the last four and a half years as defense chief, the one-time Eagle Scout has been the very model of the professional, even-tempered, and nonpartisan adviser every president needs.

Established in honor of the bicentennial of the Constitution, the Liberty Medal has been awarded annually since 1989 to recipients whose efforts have helped secure liberty for people around the world.

Among the past honorees are three presidents; statesmen and leaders from Europe, Asia, and Africa; two Supreme Court justices; artists; human-rights activists; peace envoys; scientists; and a U.S. secretary of state.

The Liberty Medal will go to yet another worthy recipient when it is awarded on Sept. 22.

We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog

The Inquirer Editorial Board's Say What? opinion blog showcases the work of the editors and writers who produce the newspaper's daily and Sunday opinion pages.

Find out more about The Inquirer's Editorial Board here.

The Inquirer Editorial Board
Also on
letter icon Newsletter