Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Still a finalist for Bednarik, Outland awards

Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still was named a finalist for two prestigious college football post-season awards -- the Chuck Bednarik Award and the Outland Trophy.

Still a finalist for Bednarik, Outland awards


Penn State defensive tackle Devon Still was named Monday as a finalist for two prestigious honors – the Chuck Bednarik Award, given by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia to the defensive player of the year, and the Outland Trophy, awarded to the nation’s top lineman.

Still, of Wilmington, was named a finalist last week for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is presented by the Football Writers Association of America to the nation’s best defensive player.

Still joins Alabama linebacker Dont’a Hightower and LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu as Bednarik Award finalists. The Outland Trophy list has Stanford guard David DeCastro and Alabama offensive tackle Barrett Jones with Still as finalists.

The winners of both awards will be announced during a special ESPN college football awards show on Dec. 8.

More coverage
VOTE: Should Hackenberg enter NFL draft?
Latest college football rankings
Latest college sports videos
SHOP: Collegiate Sportswear & Merchandise
Get the latest local sports news with the Philly Sports Now app

Although he was bottled up by the double-team blocking schemes of Ohio State last Saturday, the 6-foot-5, 310-pound Still remains the Big Ten leader in solo tackles for loss with 15.0.

In its 17th year, the Chuck Bednarik Award, presented in honor of the former great Penn and Eagles center and linebacker, has had four previous winners from Penn State – LaVar Arrington (1999), Paul Posluszny (2005, 2006) and Dan Connor (2007).

The Outland Trophy will be presented for the 66th year, making it the third-oldest award in college football. Former Penn State defensive tackle Mike Reid won the Outland in 1969.

--Joe Juliano

Inquirer Staff Writer
We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
Joe Juliano has been a staff writer for The Inquirer for 30 years, covering covering Penn State football, Villanova basketball and other college sports, along with golf and the Penn Relays. This is his seventh season on The Inquirer’s Penn State beat. He previously covered the Nittany Lions for United Press International from 1976-84.

Joining Joe this season is Erin McCarthy, an intern for The Inquirer and a junior at Penn State majoring in print and digital journalism. This is Erin's first season on the Penn State football beat. She previously spent two summers as an Inquirer summer intern on the Pennsylvania and South Jersey desks. She is also an editor for the Daily Collegian, the university's student newspaper. A Delaware County native, Erin graduated from Episcopal Academy.

Reach Joe at

Joe Juliano Inquirer Staff Writer
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter