Penn State's Still named Big Ten's Defensive Lineman of the Year

Devon Still won the Big Ten’s Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year Award, the conference announced Monday night. The senior defensive tackle from Wilmington, Del. was also named a first-team Big Ten selection by the conference's coaches and the media.

Still, who is second in the conference with 15 solo tackles for loss, is the fifth Nittany Lion named the Big Ten defensive lineman of the year. Courtney Brown (1999), Jimmy Kennedy (2002), Tamba Hali (2005) and Jared Odrick (2009) have also been recognized.

“It’s a tremendous honor,” Still said. “I play in a conference with a lot of good defensive linemen. They (coaching staff) kept me on my toes throughout the season to be at my best. I think all of the credit goes to my coaches, especially Coach (Larry) Johnson. They put me in a position to make plays. And to be on a defense with so many talented players, I was able to play a dominant style of football because of the players around me.”

Linebacker Gerald Hodges, a former standout at Paulsboro High School, was named a first-team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and a second-team selection by the media.

Running back Silas Redd and safety Nick Sukay were named to the second-team by both the coaches and the media, while the coaches named defensive end Jack Crawford (St. Augustine’s Prep) to the second-team. Kicker Anthony Fera garnered a second-team spot in the eyes of the media.

Safety Drew Astorno, left tackle Quinn Barham, defensive tackle Jordan Hill, cornerback D’Anton Lynn, wide receiver Derek Moye, right tackle Chima Okoli, cornerback Chaz Powell, linebacker Nate Stupar and guard Johnnie Troutman all received honorable mentions.

Click here for a full-list of the award winners and the All-Big Ten teams.

--Jake Kaplan