Saturday, November 28, 2015

Senate caucuses elect new (old) leaders

No surprises in state Senate elections today.

Senate caucuses elect new (old) leaders


No surprises in state Senate elections today.

On the Republican side, Sen. Joe Scarnati of Jefferson County was nominated president pro tempore and Sen. Dominic Pileggi of Delaware County was named as majority leader.

Also re-elected were: Senate appropriations committee chairman Jake Corman of Centre County, majority whip Pat Browne of Lehigh County; policy committee chairman Ted Erickson of Delaware County; caucus chairman Mike Waugh of York County; caucus secretary Bob Robbins of Mercer County; and caucus administrator John Gordner of Columbia County.

Senate Democrats also resoundingly re-elected their leadership team, which includes three Philadelphia members.

Sen. Jay Costa of Allegheny won a second term as Democratic leader.

Sen. Anthony Williams of Philadelphia was re-elected Senate Democratic whipSen. Vincent Hughes of Philadelphia was again elected appropriations committee chair. Sen. Richard Kasunic of Fayette County was reelected caucus chairman. Sen. Christine Tartaglione of Philadelphia will again serve as Democratic caucus secretary. Sen. Lisa Boscola of Northampton County was re-elected as policy committee chair; Sen. Wayne Fontana of Allegheny County was re-elected caucus administrator and Sen. Jim Ferlo of Allegheny County will be returning as vice chairman of the appropriations committee.

The full Senate will vote on Scarnati's nomination when they return in January.







Click here for's politics page.

We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog

Commonwealth Confidential gives you regularly updated coverage of the state legislature, the governor and the workings of the state bureaucracy. It is written by Angela Couloumbis in the Inquirer's Harrisburg bureau, based in the statehouse, and by the newspaper's far-flung campaign reporters.

Commonwealth Confidential
Also on
letter icon Newsletter