Legislature okays bill to extend Phila. red light cameras, expand program to suburbs

UPDATE AND CORRECTION - Here is a revised list of the southeast municipalities that would qualify to install red light traffic cameras: 

Bucks County: Falls, Middletown and Warminster Townships;

Delaware County: Springfield Township

Montgomery County: Norristown Borough and Abington, Horsham, Lower Merion, Lower Providence, Montgomery, Upper Dublin and Upper Merion Townships.

As a result, no municipalities represented by House Rep. Greg Vitali would be eligible for cameras.

Our earlier report was based our report on a list provided by AAA. But Senate sources point out the list is based both on population and the presence of an accredited police department. Ninety days after Gov. Corbett signs the bill, which he was expected to do last night, the communities would be able to petition PennDot for approval to run the cameras.

Meanwhile, our colleague Paul Nussbaum reports that the delay on reauthorizing the Philadelphia red light cameras did in fact have consequences. While the cameras still operated, no tickets were processed after the June 30 deadline.We wonder how much blowing that deadline cost Philadelphia and the other muncipalities that benefit from those red light scofflaws in Philadelphia.


The vote came after the midnight expiration date but, apparently, no matter.

The legislature approved extending Philadelphia's red light camera program to 2017, sending the bill to Gov. Corbett's desk. The program was to expire on June 30.

And there may soon be automated red light cameras beyond the city boundaries. 

The bill would extend the use of the cameras in Philadelphia and allow the devices in Pittsburgh and suburban Philadelphia municipalities with at least 20,000 residents and accredited police departments.

That would include Falls, Middletown, and Warminster Townships in Bucks County; West Chester and Tredyffrin, West Goshen, and West Whiteland Townships in Chester County; Chester, Media, and Haverford, Radnor, Springfield, and Upper Darby Townships in Delaware County; and Norristown and Abington, Horsham, Lower Merion, Lower Providence, Montgomery Township, Upper Dublin, and Upper Merion Townships in Montgomery County.

The towns would be required to apply to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for approval for red-light cameras at specific intersections

The bill (HB 243) generated considerable debate into the wee hours as lawmakers scrambled to wrap up non-budget bills before taking their summer break.

That prompted Rep. Greg Vitali, who represents several Delaware County municipalities that would qualify to say: "This is not a one-in-the-morning bill."

Nevertheless, the members voted and the bill passed 113-72, along bipartisan lines.



Click here for Philly.com's politics page.