Laperriere wins Masterton Trophy

Ian Laperriere is the third Flyers player in team history to win the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. (Yong Kim/Staff file photo)

LAS VEGAS -- With the Stanley Cup gleaming in the lobby of The Las Vegas Palms Casino and Resort, likely still soaked with beer and champagne from Boston’s thrilling Game 7 victory last week, Flyers chairman Ed Snider and forward Ian Laperriere could do little more than ogle as they entered the Pearl auditorium.

Those dreams will have to wait until next summer.

But the Flyers’ organization did not walk away from Las Vegas empty-handed.

Their 11-year drought of not winning a major award is over.

Laperriere, 37, captured the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy on Wednesday night, handed out to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the game.

The award is voted on by member’s of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. All 30 teams submit one nominee and the vote was whittled down to three finalists, all of which have worn the Flyers’ colors: Laperriere, Ray Emery and Daymond Langkow.

It was the Flyers’ first award since Bill Barber won the Jack Adams Trophy as coach of the year in 2001.

The award was presented by former Los Angeles Kings star, and Laperriere teammate, Luc Robitaille.

Two former Flyers, Bobby Clarke in 1972 and Tim Kerr in 1989, have previously won the Masterton Trophy.

More coming...

Get exclusive videos and analysis in our new app for iPhone and Android. Download it here.