Friday, July 3, 2015

NFL issues clarification on Cruz TD in 4th quarter

The NFL has issued a rules clarification on Victor Cruz's touchdown catch midway through the fourth quarter of Sunday's game against the Giants.

NFL issues clarification on Cruz TD in 4th quarter

0 comments
Giants´ Victor Cruz scored two touchdowns against the Eagles Sunday. (Yong Kim/Staff Photographer)
Giants' Victor Cruz scored two touchdowns against the Eagles Sunday. (Yong Kim/Staff Photographer)

The NFL has issued a rules clarification on Victor Cruz's touchdown catch midway through the fourth quarter of Sunday's game against the Giants.

In Sunday’s game between the New York Giants and Philadelphia Eagles, Giants wide receiver Victor Cruz scored on a 28-yard touchdown reception with 8:07 remaining in the fourth quarter.

The ruling on the field was a touchdown, which was then confirmed after an instant replay review.

Referee Jeff Triplette announced the following:

More coverage
 
VOTE: Thumbs up or down on Eagles’ signing of John Moffitt?
 
A look at the Eagles' 2015 draft picks
 
Game-by-game breakdown of Eagles' schedule
 
DOWNLOAD: Philly Pro Football app
 
FORUMS: Who will make the 53-man roster?
 
Latest NFL odds
 
Buy Eagles jerseys and other gear

“After reviewing the play, the ruling on the field is confirmed. The receiver caught the ball, stuck it over the goal line – the plane – before he lost possession. It is a touchdown.”

Cruz had firm grip and control of the ball, touched both feet to the ground, and fulfilled the time requirement to complete the catch.

At the point that Cruz completed the catch, he became a runner (a runner is an offensive player who is in possession of a live ball).

When Cruz, acting as a runner, extended the ball over the goal line, it was a touchdown at the instant the ball penetrated the plane of the goal line. Rule 11, Section 2, Article 1 (a) of the NFL Rule Book (page 61) states that a touchdown is scored when the ball is on, above, or behind the plane of the opponents’ goal line and is in possession of a runner who has advanced from the field of play.

When Cruz lost control of the ball, he was no longer attempting to catch a pass. He had already completed the catch and was a runner attempting to score a touchdown by extending the ball across the goal line.

If the same situation occurred in the middle of the field, and a receiver who had become a runner lost possession of the ball as he reached forward for a first down, it would be a fumble.

The full release from the league can be found here.

**

To read our earlier reports, click here.

0 comments
We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy:

Philly.com comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by Philly.com staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
 
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
Eagletarian is your home for comprehensive coverage of the Philadelphia Eagles.

Les Bowen Daily News Staff Writer
Paul Domowitch Daily News NFL Columnist
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
letter icon Newsletter