Jim Johnson, Eric Allen to be added to Eagles Honor Roll

Former defensive coordinator Jim Johnson will be inducted into the Eagles Honor Roll. (Yong Kim / Staff File Photo)

The Eagles will induct cornerback Eric Allen and late defensive coordinator Jim Johnson, into the franchise’s Honor Roll at halftime of the game against the Dallas Cowboys on Oct. 30.

Allen played with the Eagles from 1988-94 after the team made him a second-round draft pick out of Arizona State. He recorded 34 interceptions, tied for most in Eagles history with Bill Bradley and Brian Dawkins, and holds the team mark with five interceptions returned for touchdowns. A three-time All Pro selection, he and Troy Vincent are the only Eagles cornerbacks to be selected to five Pro Bowl teams.

Johnson was one of the NFL’s most innovative and successful defensive masterminds. He served as the team’s defensive coordinator from 1999 until his death in 2009 and his aggressive style kept Philadelphia at or near the top of the NFL in nearly every major defensive category since joining Andy Reid’s staff.

 From 2000-08, Johnson's units ranked second in the NFL in sacks (390), 3rd down efficiency (34.0%) and red zone touchdown percentage (43.9%), and fourth in fewest points allowed (17.7 per game). During his 10-year tenure in Philadelphia, the Eagles earned seven playoff berths, five trips to the NFC Championship game and one Super Bowl appearance (following the 2004 season).

Allen and Johnson will become the 32nd and 33rd members of the team’s Honor Roll, in addition to the inclusion of the entire 1948 and 1949 NFL Championship teams.

As we reported earlier this week, the Eagles will honor a former play at each game by naming him as the honorary captain. Seth Joyner will serve as the honorary captain for Sunday's game.

Among the former Eagles scheduled to attend home this season are QB Randall Cunningham, T Tra Thomas, DE Hugh Douglas, S Wes Hopkins, RB Keith Byars and LB Bill Bergey.