Eagles schedule announced

Brian Dawkins will return to Philadelphia on Dec. 27 when his Denver Broncos play the Eagles.

In the schedule released today by the NFL, the Eagles open at Carolina on Sept. 13 at 1 p.m.

The Birds have an interesting stretch in the middle of their schedule, with three consecutive games against division foes. On Oct. 26, they are at the Redskins for their only Monday night game, then play the Giants at home on Nov. 1, then play the Cowboys at home on Sunday night, Nov. 8.

After the opener, the Eagles are home against the Saints, Chiefs and Buccaneers with the bye week on Oct. 4 in between the Chiefs and Buccaneers and in Week 4 of the season.

“It’s an exciting day around the NFL when the schedule is released,” said Eagles president Joe Banner. “The fact that we have so many early games at home gives us a chance to get off to a fast start and gain some momentum. All of the prime-time games continue to be a statement about both the popularity and the optimism about the Eagles and the incredible excitement within the NFC East. We have a stretch of three straight NFC East games once again at a very crucial time and we finish in Dallas, which could be very, very dramatic. There should be a lot of great battles in the division and if you are a football fan, no matter who you root for, that is really exciting stuff.”

Eagles fans will see several unfamiliar foes: Denver makes its first visit to Philadelphia since 1995 and Kansas City makes its first trip since 1998. The Eagles are in Oakland for the first time since 1995 and their first visit to San Diego ssince 1998.

The final seven weeks of the NFL season are subject to flex scheduling and starting times for those games listed below are subject to change.

Sunday, September 13    at Carolina, 1 p.m (Fox)
Sunday, September 20    NEW ORLEANS, 1 p.m. (Fox)

Sunday, September 27   KANSAS CITY, 1 p.m. (CBS)
Sunday, October 4         BYE
Sunday, October 11       TAMPA BAY, 1 p.m. (Fox)
Sunday, October 18       at Oakland, 4:05 p.m. (Fox)
Monday, October 26      at Washington, 8:30 p.m. (ESPN)
Sunday, November 1      NY GIANTS, 4:15 p.m. (Fox)
Sunday, November 8      DALLAS, 8:20 p.m. (NBC)
Sunday, November 15    at San Diego, 4:15 pm. (Fox)
Sunday, November 22    at Chicago, 8:20 p.m. (NBC)
Sunday, November 29    WASHINGTON, 1 p.m. (Fox)
Sunday, December 6      at Atlanta, 1 p.m. (Fox)
Sunday, December 13    at NY Giants, 8:20 (NBC)
Sunday, December 20    SAN FRANCISCO, 1 p.m. (Fox)
Sunday, December 27    DENVER, 1 p.m. (CBS)
Sunday, January 3          at Dallas, 1 p.m. (Fox)