Eagles cut to 53

Bye, bye Birdies: Defensive end Jerome McDougle, right, blocks running back Ryan Moats, left, at Eagles training camp earlier this month. Moats, a former third-round draft pick, was cut Friday. McDougle, a former first-round pick, was cut today. (David Maialetti / Daily News)

The Eagles trimmed their roster from 67 to 53 by the NFL's 6 p.m. deadline.

Tony Hunt appears to have won the fullback job, at least for now, as the team cut both Jason Davis and Jed Collins.

Despite a strong preseason, the Eagles cut former first-round pick Jerome McDougle at defensive end.

Here are the 12 players who were released:

CB Kyle Arrington

FB Jed Collins

FB Jason Davis

WR Michael Gasperson

DT Mike Marquardt

WR Shaheer McBride

DE Jerome McDougle

DT Montae Reagor

LB Justin Roland

LB Andy Studebaker

TE Kris Wilson

G Scott Young

The team also placed tackle King Dunlap (ankle) and guard Mike Gibson (shoulder) on the injured reserve list.

Eight players could land on the practice squad beginning Sunday.

Here is the 53-man roster as it stands:

Defensive ends (6): Victor Abiamiri, Chris Clemons, Trent Cole, Darren Howard, Juqua Parker, Bryan Smith.

Defensive tackles (4): Brodrick Bunkley, Mike Patterson, Trevor Laws and Dan Klecko.

Linebackers (6): Chris Gocong, Stewart Bradley, Omar Gaither, Akeem Jordan, Rocky Boiman, and Joe Mays.

Safeties (5): Brian Dawkins, Quintin Mikell, Quintin Demps, Sean Considine and J.R. Reed.

Corners (4): Asante Samuel, Sheldon Brown, Lito Sheppard and Joselio Hanson.

Offensive line (9): Tra Thomas, Todd Herremans, Jamaal Jackson, Shawn Andrews, Jon Runyan, Max-Jean Gilles, Nick Cole, Mike McGlynn and Winston Justice.

Tight ends (3): L.J. Smith, Brent Celek and Matt Schobel.

Running backs (4): Brian Westbrook, Correll Buckhalter, Lorenzo Booker and Tony Hunt.

Wide receivers (6): Kevin Curtis, Reggie Brown, DeSean Jackson, Hank Baskett, Greg Lewis and Jason Avant.

Quarterbacks (3): Donovan McNabb, Kevin Kolb and A.J. Feeley.

Specialists (3): David Akers is the kicker, Sav Rocca the punter, Jon Dorenbos the long-snapper.