Catching up on Vick and Trot

Two of the more intriguing additions to the Eagles -- to say the least -- have been Michael Vick and Jeremiah Trotter.

Here is what we know about each and their role, at this point:


Maybe we’ve been looking at the Michael Vick thing all wrong.

He got just one snap before kneel-down time Sunday, but it was a 4-yard run for a first down on third-and-1 from the Giants’ 15 near the end of the first quarter.

Regarding the continuing question, “Why have him around?’’ Well, you need three quarterbacks. Vick essentially is A.J. Feeley. If the Birds still had Feeley, would he have converted any third downs Sunday? No, he would have worn a baseball cap and congratulated guys as they jogged off the field. And now the Eagles have Jeremiah Trotter to do that, anyway. (We kid, Trot, we kid.)


Speaking of Trot, though, it’s pretty clear his role now, as Will Witherspoon gets situated, is mostly ceremonial.

Trotter hinted at that late last week when he talked about how happy he is just to be in the locker room again, etc.

Maybe Trot can scrape off enough rust to provide a little more on-field help at some point, but in the meantime, as long as he does what he’s supposed to do on special teams and provides a voice of experience for younger teammates, where’s the harm? You’d rather have some guy from another team’s practice squad doing that?

Of course, if something happens to Witherspoon and Trot really has to play, this might look a little different.


And if there is any doubt as to how the Cowboys figure to be looking at this game and what it means, read this column from the Dallas Morning News' Jean Jacques Taylor. Pretty interesting stat that the Eagles under Andy Reid have beaten the Cowboys eight times by at least 20 points. That includes the 44-6 drubbing in the regular season finale last year.


Eagles quarterback Donovan McNabb is a finalist for the FedEx Air NFL Player of the Week. McNabb threw three touchdowns in the win over the New York Giants. The other finalists are Brett Favre and Tony Romo.

Fans can vote at until noon Friday. The winners will be announced Friday evening on