Awarded for taking your calls

Every day, police phone call operators are bombarded with tons of phone calls with emergencies. They even at times have to field calls and inquiries from reporters. Some accomplish the task with a grace that oozes over the phone line. For their efforts, the Police Communications Division, in conjunction with the Police Radio Advisory Board, honor those who've demonstrated exceptional work throughout the year during their annual Dispatcher of the Year Award. Tonight, five dispatchers will receive an award at Police Headquarters Auditorium at 7p.m. They include:

Kirk Edwards, 1 Platoon PCD

Jakira Jones, 1 Platoon PCD

Dorian Parsley, 2 Platoon PCD

Wendy Payne, 3 Platoon PCD

Karen Bojanowski, 5 Platoon PCD