Zoning Board

Nutter has appointed a new gang to the Zoning Board of Adjustment. The release is below:

Today, Mayor Nutter announced his five new appointees to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.  Mayor Nutter appoints: Susan Jaffe, Anthony Lewis, Jr., Joseph Manko, Lynette Brown-Sow and Carol Tinari.  Commissioner of Licenses and Inspections, John Elfrey, serves as an Ex-officio member of the Board. Mayor Nutter has recommended that Susan Jaffe serve as Chair of the Board.

“I would like to thank the four current members for their great service to the city,” said Mayor Nutter.

The Zoning Board of Adjustment (ZBA) is a departmental board of the Department of Licenses and Inspections comprised of five members appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the Mayor.  The ZBA hears and decides appeals in zoning matters, considers special ordinances, and grants variances.  The new Board will be in place to begin hearing cases on Tuesday, January 22nd.

“The Zoning Board of Adjustment plays a crucial role in planning and zoning in the city,” said Mayor Nutter. “This is a new board that will reform the practices and activities of the Zoning Board of Adjustment.  These appointees bring not only diverse experience in planning and zoning matters, but also in dealing with neighborhood concerns.  It is with great faith that I task these five new members with establishing a professional and collegial environment between the Board and the public.”