Runyan urges FEMA to add BurlCo to disaster list

Jersey Congressman Jon Runyan wrote to FEMA today urging the federal relief agency to add Burlington County to its list of disaster areas eligible for recovery aid.

"FEMA must act as soon as possible to declare Burlington County a disaster zone so that the resources of the federal government are available to assist Burlington County residents," Runyan, a Republican who lives in the county, said in a news release.

The White House's initial disaster declaration included Atlantic, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, and Union counties. Others may still be added. Burlington was left out of the initial declaration after last year's Hurricane Irene, but was later included.

"The damage caused by Sandy is far worse than the damage caused by Irene," Runyan wrote to FEMA. "We anticipate that the need for assistance will be considerable."