Sunday, April 19, 2015

Martin become longest-tenured county commissioner

The Republican has served 6,130 consecutive days, since May 22, 1995.

Martin become longest-tenured county commissioner

Blog Image
Commissioner Charles Martin

This just in from Bucks County Public Information Director Chris Edwards:

With his 6,130th consecutive day of service to the County of Bucks taking place today, March, 2, 2012, Commissioner Vice Chairman Charles H. Martin officially supplants former Commissioner Sandra A. Miller as the longest tenured commissioner in Bucks County’s 330-year history.

Commissioner Martin, who was appointed on May 22, 1995 and has served 10 times as chairman of the Board of Commissioners, has served the 625,000 residents of Bucks County during an unprecedented time of capital progress, fiscal stability and land preservation.

Miller served 6,129 days as commissioner between March, 1991 and January, 2008. She and Martin worked together for 14 of those years – or more than 4,500 days. During 2006, Miller passed former Commissioner Andrew Warren, who previously held the Commissioners’ service record of 5,580 days. Warren served Bucks County from January 7, 1980 until April 17, 1995.

Martin is a member of the board of directors of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA). He is also a member of the board of directors of the Bucks County Heroes Scholarship Fund and the board of the Bucks County Parks Preservation Foundation.

In addition, he served from 1999-2003 on the board of directors of the Bucks County Conservation District, and is a past president of the Bucks County Association of Township Officials. He is a past member of the County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania (CCAP) Board of Directors, 1996-2005, and former board member of the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission, and was a founding board member of the Bucks County Transportation Management Association (TMA).

The Bucks County Office of County Commissioners dates to 1711 and has included more than 220 elected and appointed officials.



comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
Chris Palmer covers Bucks County for the Philadelphia Inquirer. His previous work has appeared in the New York Times and on several Times blogs, including City Room, the Local East Village and SchoolBook (which has since been taken over by WNYC). Contact him at, 610 313 8212 or on Twitter, @cs_palmer.

Ben Finley covers Bucks County for The Philadelphia Inquirer. He previously worked for The Associated Press, and the Bucks County Courier Times, where he won more than a dozen journalism awards from organizations including the Education Writers Association, the Society for Features Journalism and the Pennsylvania Bar Association. He grew up in Columbus, Ohio and graduated with honors from The Ohio State University with a degree in journalism. Contact him at, 610-313-8118 or on Twitter, @Ben_Finley.

Also on
Stay Connected