The Phillies' Early Bloomers

This season, lefthander Dontrelle Willis (at right) is positioned to become the 16th former Rookie of the Year to play for the Phillies. Most of them have been National League winners. The last American League ROY to become a Phil was Stan Bahnsen, the 1968 recipient.

Willis, who won the NL ROY with the Marlins in 2003, will be the fifth pitcher among those 16 (see list below; *one award for both leagues combined).

Phillies _Spring_Training
( Yong Kim / Staff Photographer )

And you could do worse than string together this fantasy lineup we compiled of those ROY Phillies, with just a little imagination:
   Pete Rose, OF
   Alvin Dark, SS
   Scott Rolen, 3B
   Ryan Howard, 1B
   Dick Allen, OF
   Gary Matthews, OF
   Ted Sizemore, 2B
   Benito Santiago, C
   Fernando Valenzuela, P

 Winner  Pos.  Year  Lg.  Team  Years with Phils  
 Alvin Dark  SS-3B  1948    NL*   Boston Braves  1960
 Roy Sievers  1B-OF  1949  AL  St. Louis Browns  1962-64
 Harvey Kuenn  OF-SS    1953  AL  Detroit Tigers  1966
 Jack Sanford  P  1957  NL  Phillies  1956-58
 Pete Rose  IF-OF  1963  NL  Cincinnati Reds  1979-83
 Dick Allen  3B-1B  1964  NL  Phillies  1963-69, 75-76
 Stan Bahnsen  P  1968  AL  New York Yankees  1982
 Ted Sizemore  2B  1969  NL  Los Angeles Dodgers    1977-78
 Gary Matthews  LF  1973  NL  San Francisco Giants  1981-83
 Bake McBride  RF  1974  NL  Cardinals  1977-81
 Pat Zachry  P  1976  NL  Cincinnati Reds  1985
 Fernando Valenzuela    P  1981  NL  Los Angeles Dodgers  1994
 Benito Santiago  C  1989  NL  San Diego Padres  1996
 Scott Rolen  3B  1997  NL  Phillies  1996-02
 Ryan Howard  1B  2005  NL  Phillies  2004-