Super Bowl Week: Day 2

Ray Lewis is one of only eight defensive players that have been named Super Bowl MVP. (Lenny Ignelzi/AP file photo)

In more than half (25) of the 46 previous Super Bowls, a quarterback was named the Most Valuable Player. Throw in seven running backs and six wide receivers and a kick returner (Desmond Howard, Packers, SB 31), and that leaves seven times that a defensive player (or players) was named the SB MVP:





   5  Chuck Howley  Cowboys  LB  3 tackles, 1 assist, 2 interceptions
   7  Jake Scott  Dolphins  S  2 tackles, 2 interceptions
 Randy White
 Harvey Martin
 5 tackles, 1 sack
 2 sacks, 1 pass defensed
 20  Richard Dent  Bears  DE  2 tackles, 1 assist, 1.5 sack, 1 PD
 30  Larry Brown  Cowboys  CB  5 tackles, 2 assists, 2 interceptions
 35  Ray Lewis  Ravens  LB  3 tackles, 2 assists, 4 passes defensed
 37  Dexter Jackson   Buccaneers   S  1 tackle, 2 interceptions