Saturday, December 27, 2014

Ivy League Race is Back On

Princeton helps get Penn back into Ivy League race.

Ivy League Race is Back On

One night after seemingly seeing its Ivy League championship hopes disappear, the Penn Quakers once again have life, thanks to Zach Rosen and ... Princeton?

While Rosen's three-pointer with three seconds left helped the Quakers hold off stubborn (and winless in the league) Dartmouth, the Tigers were upsetting No. 21 Harvard (7-1), putting Penn (5-2), Yale (6-2), Cornell (5-3) and themselves (4-3) back into the Ivy mix.

The Harvard loss also eliminates the chance for the 14th perfect record in league history.

Below are the league's records that have snagged the Ivy League crown in its 55 seasons and the last team of each record to do so.

Record    Times  Last Champion(s)
14-0 13 2007-08 Cornell
13-1 15 2009-10 Cornell
12-2 12 2010-11 Princeton/Harvard   
11-3 11 2008-09 Cornell
10-4   4 1986-87 Penn
More coverage
Temple takes Broad Street Line to game
Latest college sports videos
Buy college apparel and college gear
Bob Vetrone Jr.
About this blog

Boop – who goes by Bob Vetrone Jr. when he is undercover or paying bills – has been at the Daily News since 1982, after working for five years at the Philadelphia Bulletin up to its closing. Along with helping to build the sports scoreboards most nights, he has had great input into the papers’ special sports pullouts – March Madness, Broad Street Run, Record Breakers, Greatest Moments – as well as its day-to-day, award-winning event coverage.

A 1980 graduate of North Catholic, he took some evening college courses. Those lasted right up until the first conflict with a Big 5 doubleheader.

His favorite books growing up were the NBA Guide and the Baseball Encyclopedia, which was, for all intents and purposes, the Internet before there was an Internet.

He has been immersed in sports statistics since the early 70s, when his father (long-time sports writer, broadcaster and the Daily News’ Buck The Bartender), would take him into the Bulletin newsroom overnight in the summer and let him update the Phillies statistics in a little, black spiral notebook. But things have changed tremendously in the decades since … He now uses a big, black spiral notebook.

To listen to Boop on 94WIP, click here.

Reach Bob at

Bob Vetrone Jr.
Latest Videos:
Also on
Stay Connected