Thursday, August 21, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Flyers' Hat Trick History

Roll call of the Flyers' all-time hat tricks.

Flyers' Hat Trick History

On Jan. 7, Danny Briere registered the Flyers’ first hat trick of the season and the 187th (including playoffs) in their history.

If was the fifth of Briere’s career and his third since joining the Flyers, which leaves him a mere 17 behind the club’s all-time leader, Tim Kerr.

Here’s how the Flyers’ 187 tricks break down:

   No.    Player(s)
20  Tim Kerr
15  Rick MacLeish
12  John LeClair, Eric Lindros
10  Brian Propp
8  Bill Barber, Reggie Leach, Rick Tocchet
5  Bobby Clarke, Kevin Dineen, Dave Poulin
4  Scott Hartnall


 Danny Briere, Gary Dornhoefer, Simon Gagne, Andre Lacroix, Ross Lonsberry,
 Simon Nolet, Don Saleski, Ilkka Sinisalo
2  Jeff Carter, Murray Craven, Pelle Eklund, Bill Flett, Jimmy Johnson, Joffrey Lupul,
 Keith Primeau, Mark Recchi, Mike Richards, Leon Rochefort, Dave Schultz,
 Darryl Sittler, Peter Zezel
1  Ray Allison, Josef Beranek, Tom Bladon, Mel Bridgman, Rod Brind'Amour,
 Viacheslav Butsayev, Lindsay Carson, Alexandre Daigle, Andy Delmore, Jiri Dopita,
 Steve Duchesne, Dale Hawerchuk, Paul Holmgren, Tony Horacek, Orest Kindrachuk,
 Trent Klatt, Ville Leino, Mike Knuble, Bill Lesuk, Rosaire Paiement, Greg Paslawski,
  Mikael Renberg, Derrick Smith, R.J. Umberger, James van Riemsdyk


Bob Vetrone Jr.
About this blog

Boop – who goes by Bob Vetrone Jr. when he is undercover or paying bills – has been at the Daily News since 1982, after working for five years at the Philadelphia Bulletin up to its closing. Along with helping to build the sports scoreboards most nights, he has had great input into the papers’ special sports pullouts – March Madness, Broad Street Run, Record Breakers, Greatest Moments – as well as its day-to-day, award-winning event coverage.

A 1980 graduate of North Catholic, he took some evening college courses. Those lasted right up until the first conflict with a Big 5 doubleheader.

His favorite books growing up were the NBA Guide and the Baseball Encyclopedia, which was, for all intents and purposes, the Internet before there was an Internet.

He has been immersed in sports statistics since the early 70s, when his father (long-time sports writer, broadcaster and the Daily News’ Buck The Bartender), would take him into the Bulletin newsroom overnight in the summer and let him update the Phillies statistics in a little, black spiral notebook. But things have changed tremendously in the decades since … He now uses a big, black spiral notebook.

To listen to Boop on 94WIP, click here.

Reach Bob at

Bob Vetrone Jr.
Latest Videos:
Also on
Stay Connected