A Grand Slam for Down Under

In April, Adam Scott became the first Australian to win The Masters, the last of the four majors to be claimed by an Aussie.

It was at Merion Golf Course in 1981 that David Graham became the first Australian to win the U.S. Open, an event since captured by countrymate Geoff Ogilvy. Graham remains the only Aussie to win two different majors.

Scott (currently ranked No. 3 in the world) will be joined by eight other Australians in Ardmore this weekend (world ranking in parentheses): Jason Day (26), Marc Leishman (61), John Senden (69), Marcus Fraser (74), Ogilvy (78), Aaron Baddeley (137), Mathew Goggin (380) and Alistair Presnell (395).

By the way, three of those Aussies — Leishman, Senden, Fraser — will play as a threesome Thursday and Friday (or whenever they get to actually play the first two rounds). They are scheduled to tee off from the 11th hole at 1:07 p.m. Thursday and from the first hole at 7:07 a.m. Friday.

Here is a chronological look at Australians that have won each of golf's four majors (first Aussie winner of each in bold):

 Year     Winner    Year     Winner
 1947  Jim Ferrier    1954  Peter Thomson
 1979  David Graham    1955  Peter Thomson
 1990  Wayne Grady    1956  Peter Thomson
 1995  Steve Elkington       1958  Peter Thomson   
       1960  Kel Nagle
 U.S. OPEN    1965  Peter Thomson
 1981  David Graham    1986  Greg Norman
 2006  Geoff Ogilvy    1991  Ian Baker-Finch
       1993  Greg Norman
 2013  Adam Scott      

Continue Reading