Shurmur named Maxwell Club's player of the year in PA

Blog Image 924249 - O'Brien
La Salle's Kyle Shurmur threw for 2,523 yards and 28 touchdowns in his senior season.

La Salle quarterback Kyle Shurmur was selected as the Robert W. Maxwell Memorial Football Club's high school player of the year for Pennsylvania.

The 6-foot-4, 215-pound senior received the award Thursday night at a banquet at Drexelbrook Caterers in Drexel Hill. It is given annually to a player who excels in both athletics and academics, and serves his school and community.

The 61 Mini Max award recipients from the Eastern part of the state were eligible for the award.

Shurmur, who will continue his career at Vanderbilt, threw for 2,523 yards and 28 touchdowns last season while helping the Explorers go 8-3 and advance to the Catholic League Class AAAA final.

Shurmur, the son of Eagles offensive coordinator Pat Shurmur, is now eligible for the Maxwell Football Club's 30th annual James Henry Award, which goes to the Pennsylvania or New Jersey player who best exemplifies what it means to be a well-rounded student athlete.

The club's New Jersey player of the year will be announced Sunday evening at St. David the King Hall in Princeton Junction, N.J. That winner is drawn from the entire state.

The winner of the James Henry Award will be formally recognized at a March 13 function at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City. The club will also present its collegiate and professional awards at the event.

Past winners of the Jim Henry Award include Conestoga's Brad Herzlich (2009), Downingtown East's Pat Devlin (2005), Pennridge's Ryan Greiser (2004), Strath Haven's Dan Connor (2003), and Roman Catholic's Joe McCourt (2000).